I'm not a 100% sure if this question has been asked already (because doing a search on "Soth" yeilds about the same results as searching out the word "The")... if it has been asked, if you can just point me in the right direction, that'd be great...
I just have a few questions about Lord Soth as a magic user.
1. How exactly does Soth, call upon his magic? Nuitari?
2. Is the magic something that was just bestowed upon him once he became a death knight?
3. Does he have to re-commit the spells to memory, after each use, like any other DL mage?
4. Would he be considered a renegade mage since he never took the tests?
5. What level magic user would he be considered?
6. Is there a listing of all the spells available to him?
Time of the Twins (pg. 78 & 79) -
....."Your magic is strong," Raistin commented. A soft wind stirred the branches of the oak trees, caressed the black folds of the mage's robes.
....."Yes," said Lord Soth quietly. "I can kill with a single word. I can hurl a ball of fire into the midst of my enemies. I rule a squadron of skeletal warriors, who can destroy by touch alone. I can raise a wall of ice to protect those I serve. The invisible is discernible to my eyes. Ordinary magic spells crumble in my presence."
.....Raistlin nodded, the folds of his hood moving gently.
.....Lord Soth stared at the mage without speaking. Walking close to Raistlin, he stopped only inches from the mage's frail body. Kitira's breath came fast.
.....Then with a courtly gesture, the cursed Knight of Solamnia placed his hand over that portion of his anatomy that had once contained his hear.
....."But I bow in the presence of a master," Lord Soth said.
Now according to AD&D 2nd edition rules, which is probably the rule-set that was used when this series was written (loosely, but definitely nothing higher), when he says that he can kill with a single word, I'm assuming he's talking about the spell Power Word Kill, which is a 9th level spell. In order to cast that spell you have to be, at minimum, an 18th level wizard... Which is fine and everything... but if so, is he a dual class NPC being a 18th level Warrior / 18th level Wizard?
If you were doing some "Old School DM-ing", how would you campaign him as an NPC?