Page 37 of 37 FirstFirst ... 273334353637
Results 361 to 366 of 366

Thread: What To Read After The Core Dragonlance Books

  1. #361
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkeley Ca
    Posts
    7,789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nightstalkerpoet View Post
    Go straight from War of Souls to the Dark Disciple trilogy. That's it for the Weis/Hickman books to get current.
    Current, or current-current. If he wants to know the state of krynn at the very latest, we have the Ogre Titans, Elven Exiles, Dwarfhome, Stonetellers, and Rise of Solamnia Trilogies, and the Champion series to get an idea of the nation-states that have formed after the War of Souls.

    Weldon
    Fanwank
    Formerly from Wikipedia, circa 2006-7,
    A fanwank is [...] an attempt by fans of a work of fiction to explain or justify plot holes or continuity errors, often through convoluted contrivances...

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weldon Chen View Post
    Current, or current-current. If he wants to know the state of krynn at the very latest, we have the Ogre Titans, Elven Exiles, Dwarfhome, Stonetellers, and Rise of Solamnia Trilogies, and the Champion series to get an idea of the nation-states that have formed after the War of Souls.

    Weldon
    Yes, that's exactly what I want to know.

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    With regard to the trilogies, it advances something like this:

    CONCURRENT WITH WOS
    Minotaur Wars - Knaak
    Linsha - Herbert

    POST-WOS
    Dark Disciple - Weis
    Ogre Titans - Knaak
    Taladas - Pierson
    Elven Exiles - Thompson/Cook
    Rise of Solamnia - Niles

    MODERN
    Stonetellers - Rabe
    Dwarf Home - Niles

    Probably only Dark Disciple and maybe Elven Exiles are “essential,” and otherwise you should just read whatever you’re into. Rise of Solamnia is pretty major, too, but it’s hard to take it seriously because it flies in the face of SO much canon and invents so many contradictory things that it’s probably ultimately best to ignore. Taladas was definitely my favorite of all this material, but, sadly, that’s not saying much.

  4. #364

    Default

    So you've read all the core books in Dragonlance

    http://www.playpokiesonline.com.au/pokies-jackpot.html
    Last edited by garyjones; 04-15-2014 at 07:23 AM.

  5. #365

    Default

    i want a copy of war of peace . applied for it a week back ... but not get yet.. does anyone help me..
    free casino games to play
    Last edited by carmencline; 09-30-2014 at 12:48 AM.

  6. #366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garth View Post
    What are the essential books to understand the current state of the setting?

    I've read the Chronicles, Legends, Dragons of Summer Flame, and the awful Dragons of a New Age trilogy.

    I know I need to read the War of Souls trilogy (which I bought last weekend), but apart from that, what else?

    I mean, the absolute essential, since I don't have time to read tons of novels.
    Way late to this but, here goes my answer:

    I would read Chronicles and legends first. I would then read Raistlin Chronicles and the Lost Chronicles in that order.

    I would then read the first series of Tales books. Especially the short stories about Palin's test and Raistlin's love life. Then the Second Generation and Dragons of Summer Flame. If you read it like this, then the War of Souls is going to be a lot more meaningful to you.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •