Page 1 of 37 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 366

Thread: What To Read After The Core Dragonlance Books

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,282

    Default What To Read After The Core Dragonlance Books

    So you've read all the core books in Dragonlance (Chronicles, Legends, Second Generation, Summer Flame, Dragons of a New Age, War of Souls) and are lost on where to go next? Can't decide which of the other hundred novels are worth reading, or will tell you stories that you want to hear about? You've come to the right place =) These lists aren't complete, but they are certainly good starting points.

    A really great resource on this website can be found here, at the official suggested reading list.

    So you really like Raistlin. It's ok, even the most bitter fanboy was there once. Someday, you too will grow out of it. For now, though, turn to these books to fill your need.
    Soulforge
    Brothers In Arms.
    Brothers Majere.
    Dark Heart
    The Companions
    Best of Tales 1.

    (Please note that there are only _TWO_ volumes in the Raistlin Chronicles, and there is no intent to write a third. None at all. One might even consider Dragons of Autumn Twlight the third Raistlin Chronicle.)

    Alright, so you'd rather read more about Tanis, huh? Angsty Brooding Hero has a lot of charm going for him.

    Kindred Spirits
    Tanis the Shadow Years
    Steel and Stone
    Wanderlust
    Any of the Tales 1 books.

    All the darkness getting you down? Rather hear about Flint and Tas, the godkings of comic relief?

    Flint, the King
    Wanderlust
    Kendermore
    The Companions
    Best of Tales 1/2

    Of course, you can round out the companions by reading more from the Preludes and Meetings series, and by picking up any of the early Tales short story collections.

    But enough of them. You want to read something a little newer, that helps explain the Chaos War.
    The Puppet King
    The Last Thane
    Dragons of Chaos
    The Rose and the Skull

    What about this Fifth Age stuff? What is going on there?

    The Doom Brigade
    Draconian Measures
    Clandestine Circle
    The Dragon Isles
    Legacy of Steel
    Spirit of the Wind

    Anything a little more modern? This lack of magic scares me.
    The Lioness
    City of the Lost
    Dragon's Bluff
    The Bertrem's Guides
    Downfall
    Amber and Ashes


    Ok ok, let's get some more depth to the world.
    Firstborn
    A Warrior's Journey
    The Legend of Huma
    Weasel's Luck
    Chosen of the Gods
    Dalamar the Dark

    There's plenty more to choose from, but this is a great place to start. Enjoy the world of dragonlance! It's not as daunting as it first looks =)

    Dragonlance Story Arcs & Proper Reading Order ( created by Raymo13)

    Besides the core storyline we all know and love we also have.

    The modern elven nation story arc:

    the Odyssey of Gilthanas --> the Puppet King --> the Lioness --> the Elven Exile trilogy

    The Dhamon story arc:

    Dragons of a New Age trilogy --> the Dhamon Saga trilogy --> the Lake of Death

    The Linsha story arc:

    the Clandestine Circle --> the Odyssey of Gilthanas --> the Linsha trilogy

    The Dezra story arc:

    Dezra's Quest --> Prisoner of Haven

    The modern dwarven nation story arc:

    the Last Thane --> Dark Thane --> Dwarf Home trilogy

    The Coryn story arc:

    Wizards' Conclave --> the Rise of Solamnia trilogy

    The Gerard story arc:

    Saving Solace --> Protecting Palanthas

    The Kaz the minotaur story arc

    the Legend of Huma --> Kaz the Minotaur --> Land of the Minotaurs

    The historical elven nations story arc

    the Elven Nations trilogy --> the Dargonesti

    The early Majere twins story arc

    the Raistlin Chronicles --> Raistlin and the Knight of Solamnia --> Brothers Majere

    Enjoy!
    Last edited by Uziel; 04-09-2009 at 06:51 AM.

  2. #2
    Serena DarkMyst Guest

    Default

    Awesome listing Tal. Got any more suggestions like it? You just got me looking at all my old books in a new light....I may just read them in that sort of approach.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,282

    Default

    well, this list was brought on by the endless horde of new folks who ask the same questions over and over =)

    Having read all the DL books, i thought i'd do them the service of telling them where they can find the books that cover things they want to read about.

    certainly i could do an advance readers version, but i think that after a point, most folks will read all the books anyway.

  4. #4
    Serena DarkMyst Guest

    Default

    True....like I said...it just simply reforged the fun I had in rereading them. I think I am going to have to go on a shopping spree soon and buy about twenty books...just to keep up on everything.

  5. #5
    Spirited Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Serena DarkMyst
    True....like I said...it just simply reforged the fun I had in rereading them. I think I am going to have to go on a shopping spree soon and buy about twenty books...just to keep up on everything.
    I did the shoping spree thing on ebay. I have gotten 20 books this week. Thank goodness they were the older out of print books and I ended up with some very nice copies. Actually, I think I am up to around 100 DL novels.

    TAL--- I am glad you posted this, I hope it is stickyed up there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tucson, Az
    Posts
    677

    Default

    you should also put a magic section in there. Something I wanted to say on the other boards but didnt get around to it. I dont know any good magic books to read. i like DL books with lots of magic.
    War is Peace, Now we know.
    And I Dont Want You To See All These Things I Hide
    Kill, Kill, Kill, 'Til There's Nothing Left To Kill

  7. #7
    beardies221 Guest

    Default

    I haven't read it, but I'm just going to assume the Defenders of Magic trilogy has lots of magic in it...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tucson, Az
    Posts
    677

    Default

    well yeah, of course. I'm talking about some of the less obvious stuff. Such as the Kingpreist Trilogy. That had a lot of magic in it if i remember correctly. I didnt expect that, though i should of.
    War is Peace, Now we know.
    And I Dont Want You To See All These Things I Hide
    Kill, Kill, Kill, 'Til There's Nothing Left To Kill

  9. #9
    Serena DarkMyst Guest

    Default

    You want a book with plenty of magic? Try The Citadel

    Awesome read.....by Richard Knaak. I want to see more of this kind of book

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tucson, Az
    Posts
    677

    Default

    Is that out of print? I haven't seen it anywhere for a couple years. I should of got it last time i saw it.
    War is Peace, Now we know.
    And I Dont Want You To See All These Things I Hide
    Kill, Kill, Kill, 'Til There's Nothing Left To Kill

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •