Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 86 of 86

Thread: Towers of High Sorcery Errata

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    110

    Default Magius's feats and Test's rewards

    I was just going through the spells of Magius and I see a number of them (mostly transmutation) having the Extended mention while the feats list does not show it.

    Also, I dont see any of the NPCs listed in TOHS or LOTT that seems to have gain the extra feats from a high reward Test. I thought that Justarius was maimed by his Test (Soulforge) but did not gain anything from it. Others like Fist or Magius (even Ladonna) looks like candidate to push themselves in their Test, earning increased power. The only one that seems to had it was Raistlin in LOTT.

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Ice Reach
    Posts
    381

    Default

    Usually I miss count when reading over stat blocks, but I think you're right. Even if you put them at averaging 3 risk points (above average risk) they would still get a bonus feat. Whenever I make stats for Raistlin for the War of the Lance, I have to give him the extra feat, which means he can have the WoHS PrC, so I end up changing a good portion of his build. Does anyone know if this or DoA was printed first?

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bastion and Parts North
    Posts
    11,887

    Default

    Towers of High Sorcery predates Dragons of Autumn, yes.

    If I remember correctly, none of the stat blocks for wizards has ever incorporated any of the Test bonuses or penalties. In some ways that's because that was intended as a player-facing optional element of the game and not a fixed requirement, especially since it breaks the standard stat block balancing guidelines by not being specifically attached to a class build.

    Cheers,
    Cam
    Moderator | Member - Whitestone Council
    Visit Atlas Games for information about Gloom, Once Upon a Time, Ars Magica, Over the Edge, Feng Shui, and many other card games & RPGs!

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    110

    Default Specialist Wizard and Wizard of High Sorcery Prestige Class

    I have a question about my interpretation of the class feature Focused Speciality of the Wizard of High Sorcery prestige class.

    If the wizard is a specialist in one of his order speciality schools (abjuration and divination for White Robe, illusion and transmutation for Red Robe), its spells are enhanced but you have to select a new prohibited school.

    What if the wizard is a specialist of another school then its order speciality school (like conjuration, evocation or transmutation for a White Robe), are his spells enhanced and it has to select a new prohibited school?

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    5,538

    Default

    I think you're talking about the infamous "double-specialty". If a Wizard is a Universalist, he may specialize in one of his Order's schools upon becoming a Wizard of High Sorcery. If he is *already* specialized in one of his Order's schools, he may then take a third (or a second, if you're a white robe Diviner) forbidden school to get an additional bonus.

    The schools that you can "double-specialize" in are clearly stated in the text of the PrC. If you are a Diviner that becomes a Red Robe, for example, you cannot get super-charged Divination spells. That's not one of your Order's schools.

    It should police itself in the text, but the short answer is no. If you are an Abjurer that becomes a White Robe, and you choose to focus on Abjuration, you get the bonus. If you are an Abjurer that takes the Red Robes, your Abjuration spells cannot be boosted.
    Dragonlanceforums.com Moderater - To be one, ask one!

    Do you love the Dragonlace Forums? Do they provide you with hours of entertainment? Why not donate? Keep the hamsters running. Ask me how!

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The misty isle, England
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Hi there,

    I've been checking the Eldritch Haunt template for a 5th edition campaign I've been planning (that one with Solostaran's witchlin wife I've mentioned in some threads before). My idea is to adapt it on Beryl's Skull Totem to create a haunt that is going to be a reluctant ally or a maddened enemy for the PCs, I haven't decided yet.

    Now, my question is: what happens with the alignment of the haunts? They are not discussed in the template entry nor are there any guidelines about the aims of such a creature. Unlike the Eldritch Emissary, which is bound to its place of power and whose alignment matches that of the the place, was there intention of doing something similar with the haunts, such as having a LG healing staff or a N druidic artifact?

    Based on the fact that the skulls in the totem need to be balanced to work, I'm thinking on a Neutral skull totem haunt that could help the PC preserving the forest, or a CE skull totem created by Beryl's essence imbued into it who would destroy anyone trying to rob from her lair in a futile attempt to retain power.

    Any advice?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •