Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 85 of 85

Thread: Towers of High Sorcery Errata

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    110

    Default Magius's feats and Test's rewards

    I was just going through the spells of Magius and I see a number of them (mostly transmutation) having the Extended mention while the feats list does not show it.

    Also, I dont see any of the NPCs listed in TOHS or LOTT that seems to have gain the extra feats from a high reward Test. I thought that Justarius was maimed by his Test (Soulforge) but did not gain anything from it. Others like Fist or Magius (even Ladonna) looks like candidate to push themselves in their Test, earning increased power. The only one that seems to had it was Raistlin in LOTT.

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Ice Reach
    Posts
    381

    Default

    Usually I miss count when reading over stat blocks, but I think you're right. Even if you put them at averaging 3 risk points (above average risk) they would still get a bonus feat. Whenever I make stats for Raistlin for the War of the Lance, I have to give him the extra feat, which means he can have the WoHS PrC, so I end up changing a good portion of his build. Does anyone know if this or DoA was printed first?

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bastion and Parts North
    Posts
    11,885

    Default

    Towers of High Sorcery predates Dragons of Autumn, yes.

    If I remember correctly, none of the stat blocks for wizards has ever incorporated any of the Test bonuses or penalties. In some ways that's because that was intended as a player-facing optional element of the game and not a fixed requirement, especially since it breaks the standard stat block balancing guidelines by not being specifically attached to a class build.

    Cheers,
    Cam
    Moderator | Member - Whitestone Council
    Visit Atlas Games for information about Gloom, Once Upon a Time, Ars Magica, Over the Edge, Feng Shui, and many other card games & RPGs!

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    110

    Default Specialist Wizard and Wizard of High Sorcery Prestige Class

    I have a question about my interpretation of the class feature Focused Speciality of the Wizard of High Sorcery prestige class.

    If the wizard is a specialist in one of his order speciality schools (abjuration and divination for White Robe, illusion and transmutation for Red Robe), its spells are enhanced but you have to select a new prohibited school.

    What if the wizard is a specialist of another school then its order speciality school (like conjuration, evocation or transmutation for a White Robe), are his spells enhanced and it has to select a new prohibited school?

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    I think you're talking about the infamous "double-specialty". If a Wizard is a Universalist, he may specialize in one of his Order's schools upon becoming a Wizard of High Sorcery. If he is *already* specialized in one of his Order's schools, he may then take a third (or a second, if you're a white robe Diviner) forbidden school to get an additional bonus.

    The schools that you can "double-specialize" in are clearly stated in the text of the PrC. If you are a Diviner that becomes a Red Robe, for example, you cannot get super-charged Divination spells. That's not one of your Order's schools.

    It should police itself in the text, but the short answer is no. If you are an Abjurer that becomes a White Robe, and you choose to focus on Abjuration, you get the bonus. If you are an Abjurer that takes the Red Robes, your Abjuration spells cannot be boosted.
    Dragonlanceforums.com Moderater - To be one, ask one!

    Do you love the Dragonlace Forums? Do they provide you with hours of entertainment? Why not donate? Keep the hamsters running. Ask me how!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •